Johnny Maziel – the gift and the curse

johnny-manziel-p1

http://espn.go.com/espn/otl/story/_/id/9521439/heisman-winner-johnny-manziel-celebrity-derail-texas-aggies-season-espn-magazine

Johnny Football perplexes me. Normally I know exactly where I stand on people. But here I sit perplexed. I read the above article and it perplexed me even more. Let me explain in hopes that I can iron out my complex emotions…

So everyone knows how much negative press Johnny has gotten over the last few months since he won the Heisman right? Well he’s been bad…if you ask the press. Everyone has shown him out and about with famous people, drinking, reports came out about a past fight, he’s been hanging out with rappers and super models… AND he was even so naughty to oversleep (reportedly and “apparently” due to a night of drinking) and miss a morning session at Peyton Manning’s superstar Quarterback summer camp. What a kook right? I mean, what’s his problem?! Well, not so fast I say.

I’m like “OK press – I get it. It’s easy to cover this poor kid when he is “messing” up in your eyes and every move he makes doesn’t live up to the perfect little Heisman winning gentleman that you might want him to be. Cut the kid a break – he’s 20 and in the national spotlight.” …I mean, right? The kid is 20! Press is all over him and I’m sure it’s not easy. My stance originally was “leave Johnny alone! Let the kid be a kid. He’s going to oversleep and I’m sure drink some beers before his 21st birthday. We’ve all been there – just without the entire world watching our every move”. I do kind of feel sorry for him and can imagine that life in the spotlight might be difficult especially with that angst that can be so prevalent in young men. Then the other side of my perplexed emotions kicks in and makes me lean the other way. What’s the other side think? The other side just thinks…he’s a jerk.

The kid sounds like a jerk…a spoiled little egomaniac jerk and…not only because the press paint him that way …but because he actually is. What’s the saying?… “If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck and smells like a duck – it’s probably a freaking DUCK you guys!” I mean – read the article. The story about Johnny playing golf with his dad and cursing, chucking clubs and disrespecting his pops is disgusting. He wants people to feel bad for him because of his new found fame? – SORRY BRO – you’re a famous college athlete, deal with it. And…deal with it without being a complete and utter jerk face. Sorry about all the attention you get…but perhaps you could handle it a little better and be a…oh I don’t know…good person?

Maybe I’m not so perplexed anymore. “Johnny Jerk face” is just a jerk. While this is disappointing because I was originally pulling for the kid – I sure do feel better having solved this conundrum.

Jerkface

Jerkface

<

Leave a Reply

